Reading that impacted my life

31 Jan

8th grade was a long time and I don’t remember every single little thing that happened, but I do remember reading the book Night by Eli Wiesel. This was about one of the most atrocious events that happened during our world history, the Holocaust. It was an autobiography about Eli’s firsthand account of what happened day by day in a concentration camp. The details that he provided us with were gory and very descriptive. He talked about the burning of men, women, and children. He even vividly described the smell that came after the people were incinerated.  It was so sad to hear about every single person that was separated from his or her family. I think I almost cried when Eli talked about the last time he saw his mother and sister. Reading this book made me disgusted at Hitler and the Nazis for treating all the people in the concentration camps as less than humane.  We are all important because we are all children of God, and no one person is better than another.  This book definitely had an impact on me, because although I had read about the Holocaust before, I had never put a face to the event. Eli was a good person and he was put through hell. He had to watch his father die, almost days before they were about to be free. I felt his pain and anger when he talked about getting beat on a daily basis. I felt ashamed for him when he was stripped of his clothing and his identity.

Leave a comment