holidays

6 Feb

 

 

Holidays are all something we look forward to. Children look forward to days where they can sleep in and be away from school. Adults look forward to taking a vacation and relaxing. Holidays are the perfect time for families to get together and bond. My favorite holiday is Christmas. Starting December 1st I get out of my old CD’s and start playing Christmas songs. I would be walking to class and the words would just come out of my mouth, “All I want for Christmas is you.” I feel like I have always been able to appreciate the beauty of Christmas. Of course when I was a child I enjoyed writing to Santa Claus. Every year I assumed I was always on the good list because I thought I was a pretty good kid. I would write my list, and leave Santa cookies on Christmas Eve. I loved the feeling of Christmas morning, waking up with my brother and sister knowing that there were presents awaiting us underneath the Christmas tree. Although when I was a child a mostly enjoyed the materialistic parts of Christmas, now I feel like my views and perception has changed. I love the beauty that Christmas brings. I love driving around in my car looking at the amazing creations that have come from people putting up lights outside their house. I love spending time with my family and friends drinking hot chocolate and listening to music. But Christmas has become more important to me, because my faith has grown since I was a child. I now view Christmas as one of the greatest days in our church calendar. Christmas is the day our savior, Jesus Christ, was born.

Leave a comment